On Support

I’d first like to thank everyone that helped make this trip possible: My family and friends, who all contributed what they could to make this a reality; the many Occupiers I had the privilege to meet, all of you were amazing, always so hospitable and open, dedicated to the movement and sharing the good word (yes, I said it); and the American Government, without which this trip would have been totally irrelevant.¬†

This movement is a group effort.

Without mutual support and cooperation nothing will be accomplished.

That was exactly how my trip went, and I am so thankful it did. Today I made it back to base in Los Angeles, safe, sound and in one piece. Though the initial part of my trip is over, this is only the beginning of my mission.

During my tour I was able to interact with people throughout the movement. I talked to them about the issues they were facing, the tactics they employed, what was working and what wasn’t.

My goal in all this is to create a forum for discussion between occupations. It is a personal analysis of what I’ve seen and what people have told me they would like to know more about. It is a resource for those who wish to learn more about the movement and how to get involved. I am not advocating that anyone take any particular action, these are just the things I have seen and heard.

It is this mutualistic collaboration that I saw as so powerful during my trip. People were genuinely interested in each others well being. They supported one another and worked towards mutual goals, contributing whatever talents and skills they had. It is many people supporting each other, however they can, to bring about a positive change in this country.

There is no way I would have been able to take the trip if it was not for the support of those around me. Someone lent me a car, others sent me information en route. Some housed me, others fed me, and still others contributed funds. There is no way I would have accomplished this without their help.

And in taking this trip, I was able to help others. I shared information that people could not get elsewhere. I shared ideas with them, that came from others, that helped with their individual actions. Everyone was so appreciative, yet I was only doing what I felt was right, I appreciate that they were receptive to what I am trying to do.

Therein lies my point, this movement requires support, and people appreciate it. Whatever you can contribute, whenever you can come down, whatever you can share. Some have time, some have art, some have ideas, some have money. The movement needs it all to keep things going.

This is my contribution, make yours.

– Serious Note

 

Leave a Reply

